Halloween Game Design: Zombie Ambush!

Image result for walking Dead zombies

I decided to try my hand at some game creation. I felt like for Halloween, it would be fun to design some sort of RPG scenario that could be played with friends this October. At first it started only as a basic premise that would utilize a novelty like lit candles for the game.

The novelty to use the candles is where the initial inspiration came from, and then the theme followed. I can’t take credit for the candles idea, it comes from a different RPG called Ten Candles, which I’ve never played. Still, I was aware that this game existed, and think the idea sounded cool.

I wanted to use the candles in a horror setting, and thought first about vampires, but ultimately settled on zombies. I know zombies is an overused trope in gaming, but I felt like there was a lot of potential with the theme, and once I settled on it the ideas just kept coming to me.

The game itself is played on the skeleton of the Fate Core rules, but has been pretty heavily modified. What I am posting here is something I wrote up last week, and I’m sure will require more refinement since it has yet to be play tested.

However, at its core it incorporates a lot of things that are fairly non-standard to the Fate rules, and are things I’ve been experimenting with, or thinking about for the games I GM. Overall, I found creating this to be really fun, and quite cathartic.

Feel free to play this, and let me know what you think.

Zombie Ambush! First Draft for Fate Core

Also, once again we will be doing a Halloween Event at Fetch Brewing on Oct. 26. There will be several horror games available for people to play. This event is free, and people are encouraged to dress up if they like.

Halloween Game Night

Leave a comment